FAQ

Still have questions? Please contact us so we may better provide for you.

We’re sure you have a lot of questions, let us fill you in…

1. Is a licensed director or funeral home required by law in Pennsylvania?
2. What if my loved one dies on the way to an ER or at the hospital or nursing home?
3. How soon does someone have to go into the ground, especially during the summer?
4. What is meant by the term - traditional burial?
5. Can a funeral home or director legally make claim to a body despite the wishes of family members?
6. Are there any restrictions on where ashes (cremains) can be scattered or buried?
7. Who should I call if my loved one dies at home?
8. Is there anything “good” about dying?

Funeral Facts

Caring for a deceased loved one oneself is legal in Pennsylvania, as it is in most states.
Embalming is not essential. Dry ice works well for preservation during a three-day home ceremony.
The modern practice of embalming began during the Civil War, for bodies shipped long distances. By 1920 almost all bodies in the U.S. were embalmed. The practice is still rare in other countries.
In Pennsylvania, a family member can (1) act in lieu of a funeral director to orchestrate all arrangements and carry out all decisions; (2) fill out and file end-of-life documentation; (3) transport their deceased loved one to a home, place of ceremony, crematory or cemetery.
Casket plans for building a homemade wooden casket: $15.95. A cardboard cremation casket may be purchased for $30-$50.